dbw - dirtbikeworld.net Members Forums

Go Back   dbw - dirtbikeworld.net Members Forums > The Workshop > Electrical Forum

Electrical Forum A forum for all the bright sparks!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-08-2016
katokonvert's Avatar
katokonvert katokonvert is offline
dbw Pro Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,935
In an email to me from Ron Williams, Beta USA Technical Director:

"The CDI units are different and should be used with the correct bike to get full performance benefits. All the different models have the hard map as the default map and the soft map can be accessed by adding a map switch including the 2014 2 strokes , since 2015 for the 4 strokes."

The factory manual states the RR300 cdi is pre-set to "soft", though..
__________________
Beta RR300
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-08-2016
tm_nate's Avatar
tm_nate tm_nate is offline
dbw Factory Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by katokonvert View Post
In an email to me from Ron Williams, Beta USA Technical Director:

"The CDI units are different and should be used with the correct bike to get full performance benefits. All the different models have the hard map as the default map and the soft map can be accessed by adding a map switch including the 2014 2 strokes , since 2015 for the 4 strokes."

The factory manual states the RR300 cdi is pre-set to "soft", though..
I'd be very surprised if my brothers is hard wired to soft, it has a shit tonne of punch of the bottom.. Would be interesting with more! I'll have to get a map switch off Roon to really scare my brother!
__________________
Current toys, Subaru powered Manxter buggy, Mt-09 Tracer 2016, TM En300 2016
Previous toys, 2004 Ec300, 2009 Tenere 660, 1996 Cr250, 1984 Yz100, 2006 FZ6, 1981 Z750, 1981 XL250s.

If you could reason with religious people there would be no religious people.. House.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-08-2016
Nutty's Avatar
Nutty Nutty is offline
The "One" and only
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wastin' away again in Margueritaville.
Posts: 10,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by katokonvert View Post
The factory manual states the RR300 cdi is pre-set to "soft", though..
All KK modules work the same. Loop open is soft, loop closed is hard. Factory pre-set to soft would be as simple as leaving the loop open on the production line...
__________________
Happy to be ignored by dimwits...put me on your 'ignore list' NOW!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-08-2016
Roon's Avatar
Roon Roon is online now
dbw Pro Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,522
Christian

Just trade your 250 in on the nice shiny 2016 RR300 Race edition that came out of its box yesterday 😃
__________________
www.01moto.com.au
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-08-2016
katokonvert's Avatar
katokonvert katokonvert is offline
dbw Pro Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roon View Post
Christian

Just trade your 250 in on the nice shiny 2016 RR300 Race edition that came out of its box yesterday 😃
You make it sound so simple!

I am doing this exercise a) because I am inquisitive by nature - so I can see what the difference is like in the real world between a Beta 250 & 300 & b), then I can talk from experience rather than out of my hat when it comes to switching from a 250 to a 300. You never know, people might actually read this stuff!

I have picked up a '15 my RR300 cdi off Ebay for $180.
__________________
Beta RR300
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +11. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.