dbw - dirtbikeworld.net Members Forums

Go Back   dbw - dirtbikeworld.net Members Forums > The Workshop > Electrical Forum

Electrical Forum A forum for all the bright sparks!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25-08-2016
Callumfield's Avatar
Callumfield Callumfield is offline
DBW Clubman
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 61
WR450 speedo

Hi guys, long story short, created my own problem with generation system on my 2015 wr450, resulting in a dead flat battery. Along with the flat battery came a dim and wacko speedo. I've rectified all faults with charging system and battery. Though now I get a blank speedo, the backlight works fine. I've tested the cables to the speedo and I'm getting a constant 12v when bike is off and also the 12v on the brown when it's on, as per specs. My question is, is there maybe a way too reset it? Or is the lcd fried from low voltage? Anyone else experienced this? TIA
__________________
2015 WR450F
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-08-2016
Nutty's Avatar
Nutty Nutty is offline
The "One" and only
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Worlds only above-ground Cemetary
Posts: 10,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Callumfield View Post
Hi guys, long story short, created my own problem with generation system on my 2015 wr450, resulting in a dead flat battery. Along with the flat battery came a dim and wacko speedo. I've rectified all faults with charging system and battery. Though now I get a blank speedo, the backlight works fine. I've tested the cables to the speedo and I'm getting a constant 12v when bike is off and also the 12v on the brown when it's on, as per specs. My question is, is there maybe a way too reset it? Or is the lcd fried from low voltage? Anyone else experienced this? TIA
Doesn't sound OK to me Callum, the battery voltage (12.5VDC or so) should appear at the speedo with the motor not running and ign on. When the motor's running you should see the rec/regs' DC output there (13.3VDC or so).

You should never see the battery's nominal voltage (12VDC) anywhere on the DC rail when the motor is running, you should always see charging voltage (13.8VDC or so on Yammys).

I'd check the AC and DC outputs of the rec/reg again.
__________________
A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-08-2016
Callumfield's Avatar
Callumfield Callumfield is offline
DBW Clubman
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Wollongong
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nutty View Post
Doesn't sound OK to me Callum, the battery voltage (12.5V or so) should appear at the speedo with the motor not running and ign on. When the motor's running you should see the rec/regs' DC output there (13.3V or so).

You should never see the battery's nominal voltage (12V) anywhere on the DC rail when the motor is running, you should always see charging voltage (13.8V or so on Yammys).

I'd check the AC and DC outputs of the rec/reg again.
Sorry mate I was a bit vague on the figures. It is 13.5-14 running and just over 12 off. Think the speedo unit could be fried from my stuff up nutty?
__________________
2015 WR450F
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-08-2016
Nutty's Avatar
Nutty Nutty is offline
The "One" and only
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Worlds only above-ground Cemetary
Posts: 10,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Callumfield View Post
Sorry mate I was a bit vague on the figures. It is 13.5-14 running and just over 12 off. Think the speedo unit could be fried from my stuff up nutty?
No, digital devices simply turn off if the supply voltage is too low. Once the voltage regulator chip has less than the minimum required 'headroom' voltage, it shuts down.
__________________
A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-01-2017
williamz8 williamz8 is offline
DBW Dweller
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: QLD
Posts: 5
Have you got any other solutions to this Nutty, or have you recitified the issue Callumfield? Mines doing the same with fading in and out! Frustrating.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wr450 2014 speedo sensor hmscooper Tech Talk 4 09-05-2014 09:28 PM
04 wr450 speedo Bleeding green Tech Talk 10 11-05-2013 11:32 PM
WR450 speedo is faint PRITCH39 Yamaha Forum 1 08-08-2012 08:40 PM
05 WR450 Speedo Cable (internal) RippinRutman Yamaha Forum 11 07-02-2007 06:08 PM
Speedo Drive WR450 ('05) feral General Bike Related Discussion 3 16-07-2006 05:03 PM



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.