dbw - dirtbikeworld.net Members Forums

Go Back   dbw - dirtbikeworld.net Members Forums > Manufacturers > KTM Forum

KTM Forum If it's Orange it's in here. Proudly sponsored by www.mainjet.com.au


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-09-2010
hindenburg's Avatar
hindenburg hindenburg is offline
DBW Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 164
2 stroke throttle cables

Im guessing the 300's are the same, where the throttle cable goes into the throttle housing it can be pull out ending in WOT, isnt this a little dodgy? branches ect.. hasnt happend to me, although the other day after having a get of, some how the cable outer came out at the carby end making it rev to the moon before killing it and inspecting the problem... Anyone had issues with this?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-09-2010
jon west's Avatar
jon west jon west is offline
dbw Pro
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: brisbane
Posts: 115
You can safety wire the cable to the casting. Leave about 3mm slack @ full lock. If you look close up top you can see what I mean.http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/d...020216-1-1.jpg
__________________
2010 EXC-E 300
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-2010
Dangles 450's Avatar
Dangles 450 Dangles 450 is offline
dbw Factory Pro
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sth East of Melbourne
Posts: 738
Quote:
Originally Posted by hindenburg View Post
Im guessing the 300's are the same, where the throttle cable goes into the throttle housing it can be pull out ending in WOT, isnt this a little dodgy? branches ect.. hasnt happend to me, although the other day after having a get of, some how the cable outer came out at the carby end making it rev to the moon before killing it and inspecting the problem... Anyone had issues with this?
Yes it has but after putting it back together and then starting it, luckily not while riding. Just poked it back in and forgot about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jon west View Post
You can safety wire the cable to the casting. Leave about 3mm slack @ full lock. If you look close up top you can see what I mean.http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/d...020216-1-1.jpg
Please do, I'd be interested as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-2010
rolley's Avatar
rolley rolley is offline
dbw Pro Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: ACT
Posts: 1,297
after a very hairy moment i have a few layers of insulation tape wrapped around mine in a good binding , helps when you come to lube it and on the lubing note , I use powderd graphit ,, wet lube tends to go gummy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2010
hindenburg's Avatar
hindenburg hindenburg is offline
DBW Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by jon west View Post
You can safety wire the cable to the casting. Leave about 3mm slack @ full lock. If you look close up top you can see what I mean.http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/d...020216-1-1.jpg
So is that wire tied either side of the rubber boot yea? Nice i idea, makes you wonder why ktm design them like this, is there anyway your throttle cable can pull on and stay on when wire tied?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #6  
Old 07-09-2010
Rich2wd's Avatar
Rich2wd Rich2wd is online now
dbw Pro
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wickham WA
Posts: 466
G'day hindenburg, I just happened to of melted a piston is this very fashion. The throttle cable jumped out at the carbie end and the outer of the cable got caught up on the shoulder of the carbie.

The bike revved that fast I couldn't kill it with the the kill switch as the engine was dieselling.... it didn't need a spark for the fuel to combust. It stopped when it lost compression. Anyway $600 later for a replate and piston kit all was good.

I bought a Honda throttle cable that was 6" longer and a Honda throttle cable/carbie boot that is a lot tighter. I threaded the Honda throttle cable under the CDI, up in front of the bars to the throttle and lock wired both ends, a much better set up.

A hard le$$on learnt

Cheers Rich
__________________
2009 KTM 300 EXC-E has tried to kill me....
Christini AWD, Ohlins suspension, APT 38mm SmartCarb, Rekluse Z-Start Pro, SXS head, 250 SX CDI, FMF SST + shorty Titanium 2, LHRB

2012 Suzuki Hayabusa
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-09-2010
axel axel is offline
dbw Pro Legend
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,111
Honda cable eh? Very interesting. For which model? CR? How much?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-09-2010
hindenburg's Avatar
hindenburg hindenburg is offline
DBW Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 164
When looking to import a custom build 250 xcw one thing that was done was a Extended throttle cable, now you said that the penny has dropped, I'll be putting this on my things to do list for sure. For now I'll be wire tying throttle and carby ends of cable, may help avoid a unwanted melt down!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-09-2010
wilto's Avatar
wilto wilto is online now
dbw Pro Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Albion Park
Posts: 1,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by axel View Post
Honda cable eh? Very interesting. For which model? CR? How much?
www.motionpro.com
PT#15-080
__________________
The internet, full of blood suckers and gate crashers.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-09-2010
rabskyline's Avatar
rabskyline rabskyline is offline
dbw Pro Hall of Fame Member
Wee angry Scotsman.
Legal Immigrant.
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 23,584
had this issue on a ride with a mate...ended up loosening and rotating his throttle housing to all ow some more slack but defo too short from factory...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +11. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.