dbw - dirtbikeworld.net Members Forums

Go Back   dbw - dirtbikeworld.net Members Forums > Manufacturers > Suzuki Forum

Suzuki Forum For the Yellow Terrors

Old 14-11-2010
DBW Expert

DRZ400 Oil leak, Advice needed.

As I have limited experience to fixing my bike besides the minor nuts and bolts, it would be great if someone could point out as to what is/could be happening with my DRZ. I am leaking oil from behind the front sprocket shaft. I removed the sprocket and front seal but that is as far as I go. Is this front seal the last defence from oil leaking??? or shouldnt I be getting oil to that point at all and I need to take it to the shop??????

Cheers.
Old 14-11-2010
dbw Pro Hall of Fame Member

You're on the right track. Usually mud builds up in their and gets caught in the seal, making a path for the oil to escape.

It's called the output shaft seal (I think). Does the output (drive) shaft have any front to back / top to bottom movement? If not, just try cleaning any mud out of the seal, or else try replacing the seal. Note the shaft should be able to move in and out a little.

If the shaft has axial play in it, the bearing may be worn and need replacing. This could be due to many things, but the easiest to check, is chain tension.

You should tension your chain so that it still has a bit of slack at it's tightest point (usually about halfway through the rear suspension travel. Sit on the bike and you'll see the chain usually gets tighter than it is resting on the stand with no weight).

Or sumfint, or nuffint

The in between is mine"

~Eddie Vedder
Old 14-11-2010
DBW Expert

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyH View Post
You're on the right track. Usually mud builds up in their and gets caught in the seal, making a path for the oil to escape.